• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working in UK for Italian company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working in UK for Italian company

Hi, I am an Italian iPhone dev and I've just moved to London. I am keeping my job as a consultant with an Italian company. Since I will be in London most of the time, it looks like I have to register as self employed. I was thinking if registering just as self-employed is the best option or if I should register for VAT too. What would you suggest?

thanks

Originally posted by piede828 View Post
    Hi, I am an Italian iPhone dev and I've just moved to London. I am keeping my job as a consultant with an Italian company. Since I will be in London most of the time, it looks like I have to register as self employed. I was thinking if registering just as self-employed is the best option or if I should register for VAT too. What would you suggest?

thanks
    Hi,and welcome to England.

Registering as a sole trader (self-employed) would depend on what type of work you are going to be doing. If you intend to do contract work then you are not able to do this as a self-employed person. You would need to either incorporate a limited company or trade via an umbrella organisation.