• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Inheritance tax

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by Bradley
    Glash - if you've taken offence at what I've said I'm sorry about that.

I have some financial knowledge and did at one time work for an investment house (now sadly defunct) and what I say about the internal workings of such is pretty accurate IMO. As you probably know, things like discounted loan/gift trusts are thought up by or copied by the bod employed by the investment house to think of such things. Once the basic model and wording is set-up and has been looked at by legal, it's pretty much sell as many of these (unalterable) packages as possible i.e. hit the WP button. You'll also know that some of these products need to be sold through IFAs to be tax and legal compliant.

Of course the IFA has a range of duties imposed by the FSA or equivalent which includes filling the getting to know your client questionnaire. This means that you should have done the bulk of the work before you even discuss suitable investment opportunities. I guess that this is the 3 to 4 hours you talk about.

Its then a matter of getting a suitable investment house to provide the plan. You can hire external analysts to come up with a suitable list or you can do what I did and google discounted gift - here's the 1st link I came up with:

http://www.friendsprovident.co.uk/co...oducts/iht_dgp

How long does all that take? Days, hours?