• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting and side business

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting and side business

Hello.

I'm quite new to contracting and I'm planing to use my own Ltd company.

I'm currently setting up an e-shop to keep my spouse busy.

My question is:
    can we run the e-shop through the same Ltd company
    or would it be better to set up a different Ltd for the shop?

I mean would the e-shop effect tax/IR35 for the company?

Thanks.

AZ

Yes you can put both through the one limited company.

No it would not have any bearing on IR35.

:-)
    ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment

Originally posted by az4 View Post
      can we run the e-shop through the same Ltd company or would it be better to set up a different Ltd for the shop?
      Yes, you can. If you can get a decent, cheap deal on company formation and accountancy then it may be better to be separate.

If the funds are low, then why not just have her run it as a sole trader?

Originally posted by az4 View Post
      I mean would the e-shop effect tax/IR35 for the company?
      If the shop is making a loss, then you can offset that against your contracting profits.

No impact on IR35, since that's assessed on a contract by contract basis.
      If you have to add a , it isn't funny. HTH. LOL.

Comment

I run a physical shop as well as an E-shop. I also contract.

I used to do all three through a Ltd company, but the additional paperwork/receipts etc of the shop/ecommerce business were a pain in the ass.