• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie LTD Question

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie LTD Question

Hi All,

As the name suggests I’m new to the world of contracting. As yet I don’t have one in place but am in the process of applying for positions, in that respect I have time to set myself up right the first time.

Been looking round the forums and many have made me chuckle, please excuse me if I ask some really stupid questions or better still if you could point me in the direction of an answer if the questions has been asked before.

Right here goes.....

From what I can make out I really have 3 options for the salary / tax side of things, I’m going with the assumption I will be ‘inside’ IR35, if outside then I would consider it a bonus...

1) Ltd company
    2) Umbrella
    3) Dodgy take home 88% of your salary schemes

Out of the 3 I would have thought the best way route for me is to setup a Ltd company, inside IR35 Umbrella and LTD is pretty much the same ( i think), I have no experience in the tax, NI, Corp tax fields so will get a company to do all my accountancy services for me.
    There are quite a few of these around, does anyone or can anyone let me know which ones they have had any dealings with, which ones seem to be the most ‘creative’ when it comes to taxes and which ones do an all encompassing service – I really want to pay someone to deal with EVERYTHING accounts, of course the monthly fee would have to be taken into account as well.