• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Working Tax Credits - are you eligible as a contractor?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Working Tax Credits - are you eligible as a contractor?

Im confused!

So im married, have a child in nursery 3 days a week, work 40 hours a week. I work as a contractor so get minimal pay and dividend statements monthly. I do not claim any benefits or working tax credit and just pay for the nursery out of my dividend payments.

But ive heard that people submit their minimal pay payslips to WTC and get working tax credits that cover the cost of childcare as they are seen as being on low income (i.e. not taking the dividend payments into account). if you earn say over £50k a year; but the way you get paid can be shown to be low wage etc; Is this legal?

can you claim working tax credits when a contractor?

If not; is there any assistance with childcare (childcare vouchers etc) that you can use as a contractor?

Does anyone 'expense' their childcare costs?

Or as we are on a decent contract rate does everyone just pay it out of their earnings?

Dividends (grossed up) need declaring on the tax credit return in the "other income" section along with interest etc, so they aren't ignored. If your dividends push you over the ~ £50k threshold you aren't eligible.