• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Agency messed up my contract?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Agency messed up my contract?

Hi, this is my first post and I'm really hoping someone can offer me some advice.

I'm a Ltd company contractor and took up a new contract a couple of months ago. The agency advised me this was a 5 month contract although the clients advised it was 5 weeks with possible extensions (due to the complexity of the various agencies/departments, the agent convinced me the clients I was speaking to had got it wrong.)

The agency has now admitted the length of my contract with them had a different duration to the one the client has with the agency. I understand this is illegal? Also the agent has given me notice (4 weeks), but the client will not be able to provide work for more than 2 weeks.

Am I entitled to be paid for the full 4 weeks?

highly doubtful, what does your contract say?

I imagine it will have a clause that says you are not entitled to be paid for time not worked.

ps. to whom does this sockpuppet belong?

Comment

Originally posted by Cakey_pig View Post

Am I entitled to be paid for the full 4 weeks?
      Yes I think you are entitled to be paid, otherwise the agent would not have given you 4 weeks notice.

The agent knows they have mucked up and are paying the price.

The client is the one you should believe with regards to contract duration, the agent is just the middle man.