• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Company contributions to non-employee pension?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Company contributions to non-employee pension?

Hi all,
    I'm new to this accounts lark and I'm just exploring options available to me to help reduce my corporation tax bill at the end of the year.
    I understand that my company can make gross contributions into my stakeholder pension scheme.
    What I'm wondering is if the company can make payments into /any/ stakeholder scheme. For example, my wife is company sec. but not an employee as she has a 'proper' job elsewhere. Could MeLtd contribute to her pension?
    Better still, could it contribute to a stakeholder pension for my 1yr old?

The total size of pension payment is not in question - if my pension is the only option, then that's where it's going - so can't I just ask the company to direct the payment slightly differently.

I actually asked the Pensions Regulator and they 'couldn't see why not', but they're hardly HMRC so I'm looking for either some confident, knowledgable reassurance or a swift smack on the bottom for thinking such naughty thoughts.

Thanks!

Could your company offer to pay your wife a salary for admin tasks,
    but she puts in writing a waiver, asking you to put all her salary into a pension

Comment

Originally posted by dapster105 View Post
      Hi all,
      I'm new to this accounts lark and I'm just exploring options available to me to help reduce my corporation tax bill at the end of the year.