• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Smaller April payment tax allowance?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Smaller April payment tax allowance?

Hi all,

I'm confused about my recent payment. I'm a contractor working through umbrella company. After first two "weaker" months this year (holidays etc), I worked full-speed in March. I took any possible overtime, missed only half day and generally I was looking forward very much to my payment this month. I've been working on this contract for 8 months now so more or less I know how much to expect based on my timesheet, and it should have been around £600 more. I asked my umbrella company and they "explained" that this payment was calculated in the new tax year (I submitted my timesheet on 31.03) and therefore it received only 1 week tax allowance (relief). And they said that it will adjust in the next few payments.

Can this be true? Can my payment for March be affected by the fact that it has been calculated after the new tax year begun, and because of that it only got 1 week worth of tax relief? I may be using wrong terms here as I'm trying to recreate what I understood but that was more or less the main cause. I usually get paid around mid-month after all middle-man process my payment (bleh)..