• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Guernsey domicille working on contracts in UK

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Guernsey domicille working on contracts in UK

Hi all

i am very new to all of this, but basically i have Guernsey, CI domicile status and i am looking to do work for clients on a contract basis in the UK. Now, i do have an accountant that i am speaking to about this, but in the interests of getting a second opinions i would love to get some comments from people on this very helpful forum that seem to know there stuff

Basically, i am looking for the best way of working for clients in the UK and wondered if there are any benefits setting up a Ltd company in Guensey where i have domicile, or should i be setting it up in the UK, or using an umbrella, or. . . setting up a Ltd in the UK which is owned by the company in Guernsey. I am not looking to do anything risky, i just want to find the most efficient way of working, while possibly taking positive advantage of holding a guernsey domicile status. I know there is not Zero corporation tax in Guernsey though i am unsure how that would affect me to be honest, i guess it depends of what option i choose.

many thanks

A

Sorry, rather i 'know' there is Zero Corporation tax in Guernsey, but i dont know in what circumstance that would be beneficial to me.

thanks

A

Comment

Some random thoughts
      • If you spend enough time in the UK you will be tax resident here, so your personal income will be taxable here.