• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Accounting Software

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Accounting Software

Having gone over a number of posts on the forum it appears that many contractors have problems with accountants.

As a newbie I would be interested to know if anybody does all their own accounting themselves, and if so do they use any type of accounting software.

Originally posted by Taggs101 View Post
    Having gone over a number of posts on the forum it appears that many contractors have problems with accountants.

As a newbie I would be interested to know if anybody does all their own accounting themselves, and if so do they use any type of accounting software.
    Yes. Excel only.

QB.

Comment

I use Quickbooks 2006, though this is in addition to having an accountant. It works well enough once you've got your head around it.

I don't recommend operating without an accountant, though - they should be able to save you enough time and money to justify their fees, and if they don't then you should get a different one.
      Plan A is located just about here.
      If that doesn't work, then there's always plan B

Comment

I'd suggest an Excel spreadsheet AND an accountant.

There are a number of people disgruntled with their accountant on this post but this is because nobody is likely to post about how good their accountant is. I wouldn't be put off by these posters but do seek referrals and research your accountant throroughly.