• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting and umbrella rubbish

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by THEPUMA
    My understanding is that that case related to a self-employed and taxpayer and is therefore not binding precedent in respect of employees, which would affect the majority of the readers of this forum.

I am not an expert in precedent etc so please don't bite my head off but that is what David Smith from Accountax said when he advised me that he thought that such a subsistence claim was allowable.

Sorry, the point I was making about precedent to spiderman was simply that it deosn't become less valid just because it is 30 odd years old.

I originally posted the link up in response to, I think, bigbird simply because it was a case about lunches. Whether it would impact in this situation (or could be cited) I don't know. As I said elsewhere I have personally got my own lunch claims through an investigation so it is not an absolute no-no.

Comment

Originally posted by ASB
      Alternatively, without wishing to be rude, you could get a greater understanding of how case law and precedence works. That case has still not been superceeded in a higher court. It stands.

Edit: There are many reasons why that case may not be relevant, but it's age isn't one of them.