• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Who gets what shares???

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Who gets what shares???

Hi peeps.

I have searched the forum but none the wiser.

I am about to form a limited company online but in the instructions it asks about shares and how much to issue?? Now i am new to this and if someone can elaborate on exactly what shares i should hold and how many do i give to my girlfriend??? What are the advantages/disadvantages of issuing small or large amounts???

Any help appreciated please.

Well you can transfer ownership at any time, so I'd suggest you start by having 100 shares (to give you some flexibility) and have them all yourself.

shares define who owns the company. If you wind the company up, or pay dividends out of its profits, the money goes proportionately to the shareholders.

Comment

If you issue 1000 £1 shares, then you need to pay in £1000. If you only issue 1 £1 share, you only need to invest £1.

I have 1 share, wife has 0 - might reconsider after the Arctic result though...
      Best Forum Advisor 2014
      Work in the public sector? You can read my FAQ here
      Click here to get 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Comment

And are you sure you want to give your girlfreind shares??