• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Daily subsistence expenses

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by Old Greg
    OK, be gentle as I'm still quite new to this. Does the BIK mean that the individual would not see the tax paid on payslips or self-assessment or anywhere else, but that the employer would pay up?
    I'm not an accountant so I'm not entirely sure but I would guess there are two ways.

1. The Co will deduct the tax at source, ie your payslip shows £100 expenses, but you pay tax & NI so that you only get £75 in your pocket.

2. You get paid the £100, but have to declare it to HMRC [ P11D? ] and you'd get that as a bill ?
    Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

Comment

Originally posted by Bluebird
      I'm not an accountant so I'm not entirely sure but I would guess there are two ways.

1. The Co will deduct the tax at source, ie your payslip shows £100 expenses, but you pay tax & NI so that you only get £75 in your pocket.

2. You get paid the £100, but have to declare it to HMRC [ P11D? ] and you'd get that as a bill ?
      Thanks. Well, I never saw tax or NI paid, and I never declared it or was asked to or advised to declare it, and a lot of people are in the same position. Or, possibly the NHS has got this right and we've got it wrong? It's all so bloody confusing so I'll continue not claiming it.

Comment

Originally posted by Old Greg