• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Going back to ex-employer as contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Going back to ex-employer as contractor

Hello people, I'm a first time contractor so forgive me if these are silly questions.

My situation is that I used to work for Company A as a permanent employee for about 1 year and 9 months. I joined Company B and have been with them for 1 year and 4 months.

Company A just made me an offer to rejoin them as a contractor. Company B has asked if they can make a counter-offer.

B pays me about £35,000 as a permanent employee. A is offering me £250/day as a contractor with an initial 6 month contract. Which is nearly double of what I'm making.

My questions are:
    1) will I get caught by the dreaded IR35?
    2) is there a way of getting out of it?
    3) if I do get caught by it and pay exorbitant taxes, roughly how much take-home pay can I expect to make, so I can give Company B a number for a pay raise?

thank you!

Originally posted by rt5mrt
    My questions are:
    1) will I get caught by the dreaded IR35?
    2) is there a way of getting out of it?
    3) if I do get caught by it and pay exorbitant taxes, roughly how much take-home pay can I expect to make, so I can give Company B a number for a pay raise?
    thank you!
    1) It depends on your contract and the actual role you'll be undertaking for the client.

2) Possibly, refer to answer 1)

3) @ £250/day, that's approx £60k/year so if your inside IR35 you'll pay taxes roughly to that effect.

Comment