• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Opting out -Regulation 32. & Professional Indemnity Insu

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Opting out -Regulation 32. & Professional Indemnity Insu

Hi

I'm relatively new at running my own ltd company (just myself) and am struggling with technical jargon... my brain just shuts down

I run a ltd company, producing graphics for web/print/video/animation/interactive cd-roms etc. I have registered with various employment agencies, and have had several contracts this way. One agency is asking me if I want to opt out under Regulation 32 of the Conduct of Employment Agencies and Employment Businesses Regulations 2003. I have tried to research this on the internet, but there is so much technical jargon and cross-referencing, that I'm more confused than ever.

Can anyone tell me in a nutshell, what does opting out mean? Will I lose certain rights, and what are they? What am I opting out of? Please don't tell me to read the regs - I've tried that and I'm just getting confused.