• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Sustenance expenses

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sustenance expenses

I am sure people are bored with expenses, so sorry however.....

I have been contracting through an umbrella for a couple of months. While my company does not require me to send sustenance receipts they do specify they should be kept by myself and I need to produce them if requested.

This is such a hassle & I am wondering if other contractors actually do this??

Getting receipts for every latte and sandwich is crazy! My local Pret can't even print receipts from all tills. Not to mention adding them up every month etc...

Am I being too honest and naive?

No, you need to keep them for the IR.

Basically your umbrella have probably got a "dispensation" which means that the IR allow them to trust that your expense claims are OK without them personally seeing the receipts.

However, it does not mean that you don't have to have receipts - your expense claims still have to be legitimate, and in the case of an IR inquiry, they may ask you to show the receipts to prove all claims were sound.

hth
    RL

Comment

re expenses

Thanks for your reply. Yes you are right about the IRD audit. However the umbrella states they are required by IRD to audit a selection of their contractors monthly & they are obliged to inform IRD of anyone who cannot provide receipts to back their claim.

So it is quite clear what is required, I just wonder if contractors actually do adhere to these requirements or just take the risk.