• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Bad credit loans for contractors?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bad credit loans for contractors?

I recently got turned down at the 11th hour for a secured loan because I work as a contractor through an agency, despite having a good income, a rolling 6 month contract (renewed last month) and secured on the house (over £12k equity). As you can imagine I was highly annoyed being pre-approved then after 7 weeks of passing papers back and forth they stop on the day of issuing a cheque.

I have bad credit also, which adds to the pot, but is obtaining £5000 really unrealistic??

the risk is with me because its secured on the house, I can afford to pay the loan with a good rolling contract, and I have double the loans equity in the house so I really dont understand why Im so uncreditworthy via this route.

My fiance' doesn't have an income, shes a homemaker.

Does anyone have any ideas or experience themselves that could help? The loan will be mainly for improving the value of my home through improvements.

I was turned down by a broker LoanMakers.co.uk

have you tried your mortgage provider?
    Coffee's for closers

Comment

Originally posted by Spacecadet
      have you tried your mortgage provider?
      No I've not. The wifes name is on the deeds despite me being the mortgage payer. so out last application was a joint one, my income her house security.