• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Taking a salary equal to lower earnings limit

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Taking a salary equal to lower earnings limit

Hello,

I have a ltd company I use from time to time for IT contracts

My wife and I are share holders and directors and only take income as dividends (5k each last year)

I work as a full time employee so was thinking of adding my wife as a employee to extract some money from the company to reduce the tax liability. She is a full time mom so not working at the moment and i understand she can can be paid £113 per week without the need to setup a paye scheme.

I have read on a few sites that people under the lower earnings limit also can build up NI contributions? Is this correct and if yes how do I register these NI credits?

thank you for your help

Regards

Yes, that's correct, you can have a salary of up to £8,164 per annum currently without incurring any income tax or NI (assuming no other personal income from any other sources, excluding the £5,000 dividend you mention).

Also, in addition this will count towards earnings for the year and state pension credits.

Another consideration - you mention 'full time mum', if she is an employee of the company, then your company could contribute as well for childcare vouchers/costs.

We're all ears!

Comment

Salaries