• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Asset disposal pre MVL

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Asset disposal pre MVL

Here's the story, i've been contracting for around 6 years, have a bit of a wedge left in my limited so need to go down the MVL route (>£25k)

I've taken all my divs for the year and now need to dispose of the company assets, basically a laptop (24months old), a surface (i dont get on with that ****er at all), monitor, NAS and some other bits like a phone, network router and a camera, total cost was just shy of £5k for this stuff over the course of the last 2.5 years

i planned to use the std depreciation of 33% so anything older i've written off (there wasnt much, a previous mobile phone and a tablet as i worked on mobile stuff mostly)

is it reasonable to depreciate anything bought upto 6 months or so ago at 33% too?

ie 0-1 year old - 33%
    1-2 66%
    2-3 write off

looking at the kit i think that seems about market rate for used items, the most recent things were the surface and an iphone (old one broke) - bought around the end of 2014 and Jan

Also - as a random aside the NAS is currently under a ticket with the manufacturer as it appears to have popped it's cork. I'm not going to pay for that if it doesnt get fixed right? POS.. avoid Synology at all costs, their support is shat
    Last edited by Rossco; 18 June 2015, 09:11.