+ Reply to Thread
Posts 1 to 9 of 9

Still gathering requirements...

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Increasing security knowledge

Hello - my background is as a Unix Administrator, but I am currently on a project involving a lot of security work (with ssh, ssl, Apache2 and Weblogic). I'd like to learn more about security and maybe make this a long term speciality. Does any have any recommendations of books or websites to learn more (particularly orientated towards linux/unix).

I have already read the following for general background:

The Code Book (Simon Singh)
    Cryptography: A Very Short Introduction

But I am looking for something that is a bit more related to 'plumbing' things together, and I don't for example want to read an O'Reilly SSH book from cover to cover.

Any info greatly recieved.

Pilchard

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Why not start with router security / firewalls?

Super poster

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    "I hope Celtic realise that, if their team is good enough, they will win. If they're not good enough, they'll not win - and they can't look at anybody else, whether it is referees or any other influence." - Walter Smith

On them! On them! They fail!

TykeLike

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I've just signed up to do a distance learning Masters in Info Secuirty
    “Live a good life. If there are gods and they are just, then they will not care how devout you have been, but will welcome you based on the virtues you have lived by. If there are gods, but unjust, then you should not want to worship them. If there are no gods, then you will be gone, but will have lived a noble life that will live on in the memories of your loved ones.”

― Marcus Aurelius

Nice But Dim

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)