• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Notice period Vs Timesheet

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Notice period Vs Timesheet

Hi,

I am a newbie.Thanks for reading this.

I was issued a contract for 6 months by an agency with a 28 days mutual notice written by either way..

Now i received an email from the agency with just 13 days notice...I spoke to them to pay the notice but they refused..

The reason given by the agency is...they have a clause in the Contract which says ' Timesheet should be signed by the client for payment '.

But i was asked to leave the client premises at the end of 13 days..so technically its not possible for me to get signed...

Now we have 2 clauses..one NOTICE PERIOD and another TIMESHEET NEED TO BE SIGNED BY CLIENT FOR PAYMENT...

Please share your thoughts..

Thanks.

1. Get your contract checked for contradicting clauses before you sign it that way situations like this will not arise.

2. What you are stating doesn't make any sense and we can only help you if we see your entire contract (which we don't want to see as we aren't lawyers who like discussing contract law in our spare time).

3. Generally you only get paid for what you work. So if you have only worked 13 days that's what you get paid for.

4. If you are unhappy with what I've stated take your contract to a solicitor and see what they say.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

You get paid for the work you do regardless of notice period. If you don't work you don't get paid. End of.