• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Director's pension, salary and dividend

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi all

I'm an IT contractor running as a LTD company. As I've been lucky this year with a solid 12 months work (and no holidays!) I'll hit the financial year end with a large profit (Yay!) and, hence, corporation tax bill. (Boo!)

I have been paying myself a small monthly salary (£640) and can easily pay myself a dividend (circa 30k) as recommended by an online dividend calculator from profits. But I estimate a profit of around 81-83K which, of course, means CT on a whopping wedge of money.

The question is - can I reduce my profit (and hence CT) simply by paying in to directors pension for myself as well as taking the salary and the 30k dividend from what is left over? If so, what is a reasonable amount? I was thinking of 20/30k-ish and which would leave me CT on 60/50K which would still leave enough left over for my 30K dividend.

My understanding is I can pay whatever I want in to a directors pension and it constitutes a cost to the business and hence comes off the profit but I want to check this is ok and I certainly don't want to incur the wrath of HMRC.

Theoretically speaking, could I work back from the 30k dividend to calculate the minimum profit I need to make to pay me this sum and then take the difference and put it into the pension? It seems (at least to a naive code monkey like me) that one would never have to pay tax on more than on around 40K just by increasing your directors pension.