• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice on making my wife a shareholder of my Ltd Company?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on making my wife a shareholder of my Ltd Company?

I opened my new Ltd Company at the end of last year. I am a contractor and sole Director of my Ltd with 10 shares. My wife is the genuine administrator of the company, does the VAT and does all the paperwork, dividend documents, minutes etc. I pay her a small salary (£6k per year) but she does not have any shares (was advised this may be an issue by my accountant as apparently HMRC are looking at going after income splitters). However, there seems to be conflicting opinions online about whether it is a good idea to split company ownership. I am now thinking that it might be a good idea for my wife to become a shareholder (I am thinking 70:30). Can anyone advise whether;

a) There is any chance of the S660 legislation actually having any real power (especially retrospectively)?
    b) What is the best way to make my wife a shareholder? Is it possible to gift her shares or is this dodgy?
    c) Whether I should make her a director too?
    d) Whether it would look strange to HMRC that she is only now becoming a shareholder?
    e) What is the safest way to make her a shareholder without raising eyebrows with HMRC?

Thanks.

Quoted from another post on here..