• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Freelancing and starting a SaaS

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Freelancing and starting a SaaS

I'm currently a freelance web developer operating as a sole trader (you may have guessed). I don't have many expenses, mainly just computer software, web hosting and some hardware e.g. I purchased a new laptop last year which I'll be running for a few years. I am looking into transitioning into a limited company for liability purposes. I am also looking at the possibility of creating my own SaaS company and wondering whether I should set this up as it's own ltd (it could fail spectacularly in a short period of time) or as a trading name of my web development business? If I was to create two limited companies would I have to pay an accountant twice to manage both? Based on ~£90/month accountancy packages that would be very expensive. The SaaS' income would come from a monthly subscription and expenses would be web hosting.

Do we get a cut for consultancy given?
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by SoleTrader View Post