• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

[Tax panning][VAT][17/18] Which VAT scheme for an IT contractor?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[Tax panning][VAT][17/18] Which VAT scheme for an IT contractor?

Hi all,

I am about to open my company and I am bewildered by all the different VAT schemes. I am an IT contractor and I will not have many expenses going through the company, maybe £2-3K per year for travel and sustenance, a new laptop for £1.5K, maybe a new desktop ~ £500.

Is it better to be on the standard cash accounting scheme? For the flat one I know I can't reclaim VAT on purchases under 2K so I won't be able to reclaim much.

Cheers

Why aren't you asking your accountant this stuff? Surely looking at this and the last question you have an accountant? If you don't you seriously need one pronto.

Are you sure you won't have much in the way of expenses. What if your next gig is considerably further away?
    Last edited by northernladuk; 1 February 2017, 07:28.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

I followed NLUKs advice before he gave it, asked my accountant Monday, did the sums on next gig and had it actioned yesterday.

On the basis of my expected hotel expenses I exited.

Comment

There are three VAT schemes, and post April 2017, the FRS loses any financial benefit, unless you count ease of processing. The other (cannot recall the name) is for used car dealers.