• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie concerned about IR35

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie concerned about IR35

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to the forums and contracting and was hoping you could help please.

In a nutshell, I am a freelance writer and left my FT job in October 2016 to set up as a contractor. The client I am currently contracted under does not have the ability to hire permanent members of staff for whatever reasons, so I was given the option by the agency who recruited me to be employed via either an Umbrella company or to set up my own limited company. I initially opted for the former, and for the first few months was paid via an umbrella. I noticed that my take home pay was significantly lower than expected, around £600 less per month, I believe due to Employer's NI. I then decided to go for the limited company option, and have set up my company in the last week.

I am currently contracted through a recruitment agency, who provided my contract, pays me and who deals with the client at the other end. I had an IR35 expert look at the contract and it failed as it looks too much like I could be a permanent employee. I have asked them if the contract could be amended, but even if it can, I believe the working practises are more important in this case, and admittedly, I could be deemed to be working in much the same was a permanent employee, particularly as I currently only produce work for one client at the moment (I work for them approx 40 hours a week). My questions are: