• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Starting contracting - mortgage timings

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting contracting - mortgage timings

Hi All

I have been planing to move over to contracting for some time and I should have enough funds soon to last three months so I can finally make a jump. One thing worries me however is whether I will get a good mortgage deal for my first house if I become a contractor.
    Is there really a difference in how good mortgage deals are whether I am a contractor or a permie? Should I get a mortgage first and then make a move?
    I also have a permie job offer on a horizon that is very interesting and would offer a greet experience. One option is to take up this job , get a mortgage and move to contracting it two years.
    Last edited by daugavpils; 12 December 2015, 10:43.

Three moths is not enough plus you can't live off just moths.

Comment

Originally posted by stek View Post
      Three moths is not enough plus you can't live off just moths.
      This shows how determined I am

Comment

Your options are basically:

- Don't go contracting until you have a mortgage. Once the mortgage is secured and the house is purchased and all done, then going contracting will be ok. However, keep in mind if you do this that you need to make sure you can actually afford to keep up repayments. You need a backup plan and some savings in case you spend 6 months on the bench.