• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Pension for wife

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pension for wife

I am an IT contractor with a limited company currently paying into a stakeholder pension. My wife earns very little and doesn't have much of a pension contribution. She is 50% shareholder.

Is it possible to setup a stakeholder pension in her name also, therefore we could both take advantage of the 25% tax free lump sumps etc?

Regards

Most people here pay into SIPPs for their company pension and the lazy ones amongst us use index tracking funds.

If your wife is an employee and/or director of the company you can set up a company pension for her.

If she isn't an employee and/or director then any pension set up must be done independently of the company and money paid in must come from yours (either hers or yours) post tax income.

A shareholder legally has no responsibilities to the company so you cannot set up a company pension for a shareholder.

In short if you want to pay into her pension now from the company you cannot.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

I fail to see how you get any real advantage. After all if the company pays more into your pension instead it achieves the same effect. Though is you were aiming for amounts that would make you a higher rate taxpayer from the pension incom I guess it could have an effect.

As said above you can contribute the company cant.