• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Edge EBT thread

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by trev88 View Post
    I'm a newbie today. Received the HMRC 'invitation' 4 weeks ago, it contains no figures re my liability at all.
    I haven't yet trawled this entire thread, so my apologies if my points have already been answered.
    -----------------------------------------------
    I have been retired 10 years, now 70, worked thru Norla and Green Bay (but NOT I believe Edge).
    I was on the scheme for 2-3 months only in 2004.
    I doubt I still have all the paperwork.
    I have found two 2004 payslips for 2004, and two Green Bay 'Reconciliation of Employee Payments' for 5/2004, that mention 'EBT'..
    1. Can HMRC really go back 10 years and demand tax ?
    2. Will HMRC have the correct amounts to bill me for ?
    3. If I can 'guesstimate', might they accept my figures ?
    It is most likely that HMRC sent you a COP8 notice or discovery notice before 2008 and so protected tax year 2004

Comment

Which prompts a further question, how do we know what years HMRC have protected? Is there a way of finding out?

Comment

Originally posted by Talgarth View Post
        Which prompts a further question, how do we know what years HMRC have protected? Is there a way of finding out?
        When HMRC issues a COP8 or Disco, they have protected that tax year and can come back to it to demand what they believe is unpaid tax. Disco time limits have been discussed to death in these threads

Comment