• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Do you ever see yourself as a good contractor?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by MarillionFan View Post
    That's a good question.

I've done 34 contracts / 4 perms. Three of these contracts turned to perm.

As a contractor I'm top notch. I know exactly what the client wants, can pre-empt it, deliver it and deliver additional value add because I've pre-empted what comes next. As a contractor I make other people look good and so for the money the client gets the kudos and you sit in the background.

On the flip side after a while that becomes grating and so realised I was actually better than the majority of clients I worked for, so now become the client. Irritatingly though, I'm still happy for others to take the kudos. Even mentioned this to by boss who I've worked with before bemoaning the number of times others jump on the bandwagon of successful projects pushing themselves to the front for a scrap of meat. I've come to think of myself as a butcher, without me everyone will become a vegetarian.
    FTFY

Comment

I left uni in 1991 and I've been contracting ever since. I consider myself to be a good contractor and judge this by the amount of time I'm out of work. I think i've only been between contracts for about 4 months in total out of the last 14 years.