• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracts in the City seem to be few and far between at the moment

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by yellow
    I was going to post this as a separate thread, I'm an experienced C# developer - plenty of roles outside the City in London, which is fine at the mo, but obviously rates are higher in the city, getting these contracts seems to be a Catch 22 situation regarding financial experience; experience is required (derivatives for example) - but how do you get that experience in the first place?!
    If it were easy to get, it wouldn't pay more. Sorry.
    God made men. Sam Colt made them equal.

Comment

The week before last I had 2 interviews and 2 offers after being back from holiday for 2 days

Both in the city, one for a large bank using VB6 (yes VB6 ) and I have no previous banking experience, and one for a smaller company using .Net C#, SQL 2005 etc

I found the market to be slower than usual but still lots about.

The funny thing was both offers came from the same agency (which i didnt realise at the time), I accepted the smaller firm because it was more interesting and wasnt using legacy technology, then the bank upped their offer another £75 a day , So I did a U-Turn and accepted their offer.