• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Agency incompetence

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

cheers for the posts chaps!

Comment

Hi, another newbie here:

My situation is as follows:

I have been offered a contract directly from a consultancy who are working for a telecomms company. Now the question is, do I still need to go through an agency? or can I go directly through an umbrella company such as Parasol? I don't understand why an agency should take a % of my income if they didn't even find me the contract! Apart from finding work for contractors what other services do they offer for the % they deduct?

Comment

Originally posted by ar786
        Hi, another newbie here:

I have been offered a contract directly from a consultancy who are working for a telecomms company. Now the question is, do I still need to go through an agency? or can I go directly through an umbrella company such as Parasol? I don't understand why an agency should take a % of my income if they didn't even find me the contract! Apart from finding work for contractors what other services do they offer for the % they deduct?

If you can go direct to the consultancy then it probably makes sense. All that will dictate this is if the client (the consultancy) will let you, or if they have preferred suppliers (agencies) and will only deal with them.

As for what else does a (good) agency do?