• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting in Australia

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting in Australia

Hi everyone,

I was a contractor in the UK up until end of 2015 when I moved to Hong Kong to try my hand here. All good so far but also watching the I.T industry in Australia closely - some exciting stuff going down there in digital. My UK Ltd Co is in a dormant state at the moment and I'm a permie in HK.

So the catch - working visa for Australia. As far as I can tell (IT Contracting in Australia - Money & Tax :: Contractor UK) I need a 417 or 457 visa.

Anyone switched from UK to Australia already? If so what route did you take to get a visa and how long did the process take?

Cheers!

Also have a look at this visa:
    https://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Visa-1/189-

You don't need a sponsor for this one

Comment

Originally posted by ladymuck View Post
      Also have a look at this visa:
      https://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Visa-1/189-

You don't need a sponsor for this one
      You do need £4.5k though (if there are 2 of you).

I'm seriously considering this.

Comment

http://forums.contractoruk.com/busin...-contract.html

Comment

457 Get you started

I used to work in oz for ten years I only intended on going for a few months

The market has changed a lot over the years and a 457 is now used a lot by offshore companies to bring perm resources to oz. The market is pretty tough at the moment from mates I am still in contact with.