• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Bit of help needed, has anyone worked for these guys?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bit of help needed, has anyone worked for these guys?

Hi,

This is my first post so please be gentle with me!

I have been contracting for a few years and have just been offered a PM role at a bank in Brussels. The job is through an Indian outfit called Silverlink.

They havent been as helpful as most UK firms, and have offered a lower rate than I would like. I normally wouldn't consider this but it would be a way into banking, and every time I have tried in the past, ive been told I need experience, which I cant get without a job!

I have issues with trusting them, the contract terms are a bit odd (as shown elsewhere on these boards), and I haggled them up a few quid but not much. I also worry about their reliability as when I call them I dont always get through to someone who makes sense to me. I was just offered the job on the phone, and asked them for time to consider it as I am waiting to hear back about a few other things. The agent got upset with me and said he would not have put me forward if he knew I had other stuff on. Is this just a language/cultural difference or should I be worried? I have the feeling they would be a nightmare to work for!

Does anyone have positive experiences of these guys?

I suggest you use search and look for threads on people who have worked through and for Indian based outsourcers and agencies.