Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 10 of 31

Nervous Newbie

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Illegal dividends or not !

I`ve a question on these Dividends and need to know more if what i am about to say will be illegal dividends or not.

I am an IT contractor and my company gets paid every month. Say my company bank account has £20,000 as its balance as of today. Is it correct for me to declare £19,000 as dividends today and transfer it today, in the hope that the Dec month payment to my company will refill the balance !

My situation is just for a month or 2 but in the long run is not expected to be disturbed, so can someone please help me with this ?

What I read is that illegal dividends "When Corporation Tax is then calculated at the year end the available profits reduce, and the dividend that was paid suddenly creates a loss. This is known as an illegal dividend, or Ultra Vires, as dividends should only be paid from profits."

http://www.companybug.com/guide-to-i...to-avoid-them/
    Last edited by Contractor UK; 28th March 2017 at 11:59.

Contractor Among Contractors

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Short answer: no

Long answer: you need to knock up some accounts and check your reserves/p&l account, knock off 20% as a CT estimate. That's what's available to you as divis
    I reject your reality and substitute my own - Adam Savage
    Me on LinkedIn | 15% off your first year's IPSE membership

Godlike

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by retyfraser View Post
    I`ve a question on these Dividends and need to know more if what i am about to say will be illegal dividends or not.