• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Introduction

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Introduction

Hi there, my name's Caspian (yes, really), and I've been contracting for about 12 years now. Although for the last two years I've had bugger all work at all and I wondered if anyone had any thoughts on why. The CV's at http://www.puppygames.net/cv.doc if anyone wants to rip it apart but looking at mostly every other CV I've ever come across it doesn't seem to be particularly weird or different to any other.

I wonder if it's just having a silly name that's the problem. Or maybe I live in the wrong part of the country (Taunton). Or perhaps I just don't do anything that anyone needs any more?

Anyhow - hi there everyone. Strange I never found this forum before.

Cas
    Puppygames

Your name is really Caspian Prince?

I would shoot your parents if I were you, although they couldn't have known at the time about the films that would be made in recent years.

You will need some devs to comment on the dev side of your CV and I am not one but my first thoughts would be that if you are marketing yourself as a dev for hire then I would present your plan B / hobby stuff as separate to you as an individual and as stuff that you did instead. That includes your email address.

I have worked on projects in the past where one of the contractors spent all day on their plan B, it is really annoying.

The market is tough at the moment in case you hadn't noticed, so you may just have been unlucky.