• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Want to become Contractor !

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Want to become Contractor !

hi all,

I am an electronics/software engineer with over 12 years experience in the semiconductor industry. Over this time I have developed strong Unix/Linux, SW and HW skills and now want to fully transition into IT. Reason - There are far more opportunities in this than a pure electronics role and the higher wages appeal to me!

I have summerised my IT skills below:

15 years Linux experience including server setup, infrastructure, backups (RAID, SAN), shell scripting (perl, python, tcl) , virtual box, web development (apache, mySQL, php, css, html), embedded Linux.

I have seen a number of Linux support / developer roles that I know I could do rate ~£350 a day. Do you think I would have a chance of getting anything ?

what courses would you recommend I did to improve my chances ? Redhat etc.

thanks

Originally posted by systemx4 View Post
    hi all,

I am an electronics/software engineer with over 12 years experience in the semiconductor industry. Over this time I have developed strong Unix/Linux, SW and HW skills and now want to fully transition into IT. Reason - There are far more opportunities in this than a pure electronics role and the higher wages appeal to me!

I have summerised my IT skills below: