• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

BPSS/SC question - Employment History

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

BPSS/SC question - Employment History

Hello - I have scanned this thread:

https://forums.contractoruk.com/busi...questions.html

....and have run some searches, I can't seem to find anything clearly aligned to a question that I have and was hoping for some help on please.

I was a Ltd co contractor from 1998 to end of 2020 - I went perm May ish 2021 - I have been PAYE on my Ltd for a long while and am thus an employee of my Ltd co, rather than self employed is my understanding, checked with my accountant.

All fine thus far - except my employer wants to put me through BPSS then SC - on a personal level its good news and gives some degree of flex if/when I return to contracting.

My question is - on the form I fill in on employment history, based on the above, do I simply put down my Ltd co details to cover the last X years preceding my current role?

Or do I put down self employed, that put down each customer and any gaps?

Plainly one is simpler than the other = I'm just not sure on the demarcation line and want to avoid pain later.

Any thoughts or experience would be gratefully received please.

You are not an emloyee, you are an officer of your company. Taking a salary does not make you an employee. I hope your accountant knows that...

Otherwise your job has been Director of a limited company. Other questions will cover the necessary other details.