• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First Time Contractor - Setup a Ltd company after I find contract or setup before?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Time Contractor - Setup a Ltd company after I find contract or setup before?

Hello,

I am a newbie and after much research, I have decided I'm definitely going to go contracting and going via the Ltd company route.

I now know all the necessary stuff I need to do but I don't know in what order I need to do them in, therefore any advice & guidance much appreciated.

My main question is do I first find my first contract, and after winning that contract, then decide to set up my Ltd company (register with company house, getting in touch with an accountant, setting up a business bank account etc)?

Or, Do I do all of that first, only then hunt for a new contract as the very last step?

I've read a lot over the last 8 months on all the stuff that needs to be done for all avenues but none tells you in what order you perform them. Hence I'm asking here.

Many Thanks in advance

Have you tried the newbie guides to the right. I don't think there is a standard as it depends on the situation. A quick start gig will need different priorities to one you have a week or two to complete.

A good start would be to get yourself an accountant and let them guide and help you. They'll get the money and company side sorted with you.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment