• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

3 questions from a future new contractor.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

3 questions from a future new contractor.

Hello,
    I work as a permanent (software engineer) in London, and after several of my friends became contractors last year, I think it's time to do the same. All of them are very happy and making good money.

Some questions:

My friends are using Crunch (accountant) and Metro Bank (business account). They say this combination works very well for them. Do you have a better combination or any suggestion about this specific combination?

Is it normal telling recruiters you need a couple of days to review the contract with an expert in IR35 issues? This is an option given by Crunch, but my friends don't care about IR35, which I guess it is a bad idea.

I would like to start as a contractor this 6 April, that is, the new fiscal year. I don´t want to have to fill a personal self assessment for the current year (17/18) and I want to spend these 2 months preparing my CV, refreshing my knowledge and improving my portfolio. Can I create my limited company (and bank account, VAT number...) before 6 April but start trading 6 April? Or does that mean because I'm director of my company the year 17/18 I have to fill a self assessment for this year?

Thanks a lot for your time.

Originally posted by Ricardo19ip View Post
    which I guess it is a bad idea.
    Yep.