• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Hi! Question from non-UK resident working for a UK company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi! Question from non-UK resident working for a UK company

Some further questions in post #7

Hi guys! I've just registered and thought that this forum may be a best bet for some of my questions. First, let me introduce myself and give you some background of my situation.

I'm a web/software developer from Poland who recently got hired on a permanent basis by a UK company to work remotely from Poland. I received a fairly standard British contract of employment with one significant difference - my whole gross salary is transfered to my bank account and as a Polish resident I'm legally obliged to pay all income taxes and national insurance to Polish authorities in obedience to Polish law. There are no deductions done on a British side.

Before getting hired by this UK company I used to be (and I still am, in fact) self-employed in Poland, doing all my IT work as a contractor. Not a typical freelancer - those were in fact standard 40h/week jobs, just billed as a B2B service with standard VAT invoices. This is completely legal in Poland. We don't have such strict regulations as British IR35 and almost everyone who's salary is significantly above national average becomes a contractor at some point because of huge tax benefits of such move.