• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Umbrella pension options - handhold required!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Umbrella pension options - handhold required!

I’m a higher rate umbrella contractor trying to opt into the salary sacrifice scheme they offer but it’s not going very well. It involves paper forms being signed and posted back and forth between me, my umbrella and the SIPP, which keep going missing at various stages of the process.

I’ve spent hours on the phone, printing things out, filling in forms, posting things and following up and I’m wondering if it’s worth the continued hassle.

In order to decide, I’m trying to figure out how much I’d be losing out if I just pay £400 a month into a SIPP myself, but I keep getting stuck.

If I’m understanding correctly, when I contribute £400 to the SIPP, I should get an extra £100 added to it (20% tax relief) and another £100 (+20% higher rate tax relief) back via self-assessment.

So when I get the £100 back I’d have essentially paid £300 for £500 in my pension.

Is this right so far?

With salary sacrifice, if I ‘sacrificed’ £500 a month I’d get £500 straight into my pension (no additional top ups).

If I hadn’t ‘sacrificed’ that £500, it would have been taxed at 40% before it got to me, and I’d have received £300 of it. Which seems to work out equal to the above.

EXCEPT I now realise the above calculation doesn’t account for employers NI, employees NI and apprenticeship levy and the umbrella fee (£100 a month).