• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Lost at sea...Inside IR35.what % should I expect to take home?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lost at sea...Inside IR35.what % should I expect to take home?

Hi,

I'm a relatively young IT Analyst who to date has always being employed in a permanent role, however I am currently in the negotiation phase of a contract role with a day rate of around £300, which falls inside IR35. Having no previous experience of operating within a Ltd company, I'm....lost at sea.

The reason for this is due to the umbrella companies and comparison companies I have been in contact with. I've been told there is 2 options, a standard umbrella where net pay is around 62% of my daily rate, which makes me question if taking on a contract role inside IR35 is worth while? or "enhanced tax efficient" umbrella where they promise 86% take home which is fully HMRC compliant. I've been around long enough to know that if something sounds too good to be true then it probably is, however I don't understand how they could legally sell and advertise this method as legal and compliant... if it wasn't?

Any help is appreciated, and I would also like to know what % other contractors take home as net pay.

Thanks

You could try a calculator like the one linked below.

Umbrella Company PAYE Calculator | Contractor Umbrella

I thought this figure would change when you hit the thresholds but I'm not completely sure to be honest.