• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Umbrella Contract of Employment?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Umbrella Contract of Employment?

Hi all

I recently did 2 days work through an agency (I have never worked for/through an agency before). About a week later I contacted the agency regarding payment and I was passed from "pillar to post" for 3 days trying to get info from them? They stated in the end that an "Umbrella Company" would contact me in reference to payment. I received a call from the Umbrella Company who took my details. The next day I received an email with a "Contract of Employment" attached for me to sign.
    It took me an hour and half to read and I was confused at the end. I replied back via email to the Umbrella Company stating that I was not willing to sign anything that I do not understand?

I have heard nothing back since yesterday?

Are these "Contracts of Employment" the "norm" and I am just being anal?

I would be grateful of any replies!

Did you not at least sort out how you were going to be paid first ? I appreciate it was a bit of a rush.

Are you operating with a LTD? If so why can you not just invoice them ?

Other than that you will need an Umbrella. What is it about the contract you don't understand ? It should be a fairly normal contract of employment.

Comment

This wouldn't be supply teaching would it?
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by Wez View Post
        Hi all