• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Clarifications about tax relief, expenses Umbrella company facts.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Clarifications about tax relief, expenses Umbrella company facts.

Hi, I'm new to Umbrella Companies and contracting in general, but I've read almost all of the information you guys have on Umbrella companies as well as many other sites and I have a couple of question/clarifications.

I'm attempting to choose a company from my agency's approved list, and a lot of them have mentioned tax relief. They're basically giving the impression that I will only have to pay half of their weekly net margins. From what I've read that sounds like complete tripe, am I right?

The expenses that I'll be paid are not dependant on the company I go with, despite what they say, am I right? So these little calculations they do should be ignored and I should only use their net pay margins to compare between them, along with the customer services they provide e.g online login portal, fast payment procedures?