• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Issue with seemingly low pay from an Umbrella company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Issue with seemingly low pay from an Umbrella company

Hi everyone

I'm new to contracting, having signed up with an umbrella company (who, for now, will remain unnamed) 2 weeks ago.

I'm writing this post because I'm concerned about the amount of money the umbrella seems to be taking, and am looking for a little clarity on the matter from anyone in this community.

To elaborate. So far, I have invoiced 2 contracts through the umbrella; one for £666.64, and one for £900.00 (so £1566.64 in total).

Now, according to Contractor Umbrella's calculator, I could be taking home £1203.34 (net, minus a bit more for student loan), but, with my current umbrella, I have been paid just £888.73 (net, into my account).

I don't know if I'm missing something here, but that seems like a pretty hefty disparity. The breakdown is as follows:

---
    Total income to company: £1,566.64
    Employer NI: £155.27
    Umbrella margin: £37.50
    Total for salary: £1373.87

---
    Tax deducted: £311.44
    Employee NI: £87.70
    Total deductions: £399.14

---
    Paid to employee: £888.73
    Retained by company: £86.00