• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

HMRC Enquiry letters on Loans from EBT and other schemes

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thank God I'm not alone!

Greetings to this Forum and thanks for existing. Reading a few pages of this has at least removed that feeling of 'I'm on my own here'.

I have been contracting for 12 years and over that time have followed the traditional salary / dividends route, an Umbrella solution until Dec 2015 and then a Limited Company Solution from this year on. All had progressed smoothly for some time and then I have suddenly found myself receiving an Investigation from HMRC for 12/13 - the year I moved from PAYE to the Umbrella Solution. This has now broadened into requests for SA for 13/14 and 14/15. At the same time my provider is warning of impending Autumn Statement legislation and fore-stalling measures. All very worrying!

For a while, I have tried to ride this out but the stress is growing steadily as I contemplate potential Bankruptcy. It is hard not to panic despite all the obvious games being played by HMRC and I have made the decision to revert to Old School accounting and take the income hit from Jan 17 when my new company year begins. Doesn't remove the worry over what will happen next though...

I have also ask to join big group and will be looking for help in their to ease both my concerns and my wife's worries over our house and life!