• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

HMRC Loan Charge Enquiry Letter Early 2020, then No-thing

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HMRC Loan Charge Enquiry Letter Early 2020, then No-thing

Greetings to all and apologies if this question has been referred to previously, I have not been able to find a link.
    I am a locum scientist and have been previously working for the NHS permanently, then my husband became a cancer patient and I had to step back from full time briefly for some time.

In 2016 I worked a few months here and there, making no more than 10-13K. I was working with a company called Payrise and as far as I know I paid all my taxes.

In early 2020 I received a brown envelope from HMRC, which looked generic as it did not even have my name on it and referred to me as Sir/Madame, telling me there might be info of me using loan charge schemes.

This was the first I had ever heard of such things and I immediately contacted HMRC, who knew nothing about it.

I spoke to 3 people on 3 separate occasions, who opened my files and said they have no info regarding an enquiry about my tax affairs.

Eventually I managed to speak to someone in the Loan Charge dept, who told me they had no record of any enquiry. None-the-less the person I spoke to told me to send in info about my employment form the past 5 years from 2011-2016.