• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

MP who used loan scheme accused of hypocrisy over tax avoidance

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by cliffordthedog View Post
    Webberg

They may be confidential, but could an FOI request ask how many registered MP's have an open enquiry for tax avoidance.
    Just a thought.
    Personally I would say, don't waste your time.

What actually is "tax avoidance"?

I've been doing this for 40 years and I would not suggest a definition, so putting that into a FoI is going to be tricky!
    Best Forum Adviser & Forum Personality of the Year 2018.

(No, me neither).

Comment

Originally posted by webberg View Post
      Personally I would say, don't waste your time.

What actually is "tax avoidance"?

I've been doing this for 40 years and I would not suggest a definition, so putting that into a FoI is going to be tricky!
      I know I am probably going to show my ignorance here. But could you asking how many current or former MPs have APNs against them?

Comment

Originally posted by BrilloPad View Post
        I know I am probably going to show my ignorance here. But could you asking how many current or former MPs have APNs against them?
        I'm not sure HMRC would be able to easily cross-reference the APNs against the criteria "former MPs" - certainly not within the £600(?) limit for FoI enquries.

Comment

Originally posted by jonnieboy View Post