• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting in a recession

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contracting in a recession

With the interest rate rise and a warning of a coming recession, are there any tips, tricks, what to look out for, what could be coming etc?

Pile into the warchest I’m guessing is #1

It takes a lot of weeks to make up for 1 weeks lost revenue.

So don't hold out for £550 a day if someone is offering you £500.
    merely at clientco for the entertainment

Comment

I've been a contractor during recessions in the past, and I haven't seen a huge difference in the ability to find roles.

Comment

There'll probably still be work around, as businesses lay off staff to save money but still need things to be done. Probably best to expect more short-term gigs though. Projects that would take a few years are likely to be put on hold in favour of getting somebody in to stick bits on what they already have with string and chewing gum.

Comment

As my work involves making people redundant and saving companies money, recessions are good for my business

Comment

Originally posted by GJABS View Post
            I've been a contractor during recessions in the past, and I haven't seen a huge difference in the ability to find roles.
            Likewise, just depends on your skillset. Recessions can be good for some skillsets and sectors while others are pretty much invariant to the business cycle.

So get one of those skillsets

Comment